Going Through Menopause with a Toddler

Going Through Menopause with a Toddler

Menopause is the time that marks the end of your menstrual cycle. It’s diagnosed after you’ve gone 12 months without a menstrual period. Menopause can happen in your 40s or 50s, but the average age is 51 in the United States.

Menopause is a natural biological process. But the physical symptoms, such as hot flashes, and emotional symptoms of menopause may disrupt your sleep, lower your energy or affect emotional health. There are many effective treatments available, from lifestyle adjustments to hormone therapy.

Symptoms

In the months or years leading up to menopause (perimenopause), you might experience these signs and symptoms:

  • Irregular periods
  • Vaginal dryness
  • Hot flashes
  • Chills
  • Night sweats
  • Sleep problems
  • Mood changes
  • Weight gain and slowed metabolism
  • Thinning hair and dry skin
  • Loss of breast fullness

I am a 53-year-old woman (soon to turn 54) and I have a beautiful 4 and-1/2-year-old who I had at the marvelous age of 49.

I have actually been pre-menopausal for some years now and giving birth to my daughter pushed menopause back some years. However, these past few months, it seems to be kicking in.

I have always had severe PMS since I started this journey at the age of 14. My cycles have been quite an adventure over the course of the past 40 years. Along with infertility issues coupled with PCOS, it has been my least favorite adventure I have ever been on. And now it seems it’s time for the roller coaster to slow down and hopefully come to a complete halt with little or no more discomfort.

I am so proud to say I have the most mature and well-behaved little human that any momma could ask for. This in itself is such a tremendous asset and helps me get through the days that are not so easy. The average mom usually gets to go through this stage with a teenager or even once their children move out of the house. I get to go through this with my sweet girl who loves to help and that is so helpful in my transition of sorts.

My biggest struggle thus far has been weight gain. I am currently working with my doctor to get it under control so that there are another set of obstacles will not develop if I do not get it under control. I have tried Pellet Therapy, which is very expensive and did not seem to work for me it actually made it worse. My new approach is diet and lifestyle changes, along with regular exercise. I found that I enjoy Water Aerobics and will soon incorporate some other exercises into the equation. A body in motion stays in motion and choosing what we put into our bodies has a great impact on our overall health, both mentally and physically.

Being a mom is my greatest joy and having my sweet girl has been an absolute blessing. Menopause at any stage in life isn’t all dandelions and daffodils, but if I had it to do over again at this age, I would in a heartbeat. So bring it on menopause! I’ve got a secret weapon to help me combat you, and her name is Isabelia and she is this momma’s best remedy for what’s to come.

1 COMMENT

  1. Menopause is so strange. I am 47 and have not had a period for 20 months (so, I have been in Menopause since I was 46).

    I’ve lost 75% of my hair. I’m not kidding. It’s all fallen out. I’ve also gone 100% grey almost overnight.

    I’ve lost 18+ pounds. I weigh the same that I did when I was 30 (5’8” and 139 lbs). I’m an attorney who works remotely (from home) 80+ hours a week. I barely have time to walk up and down my stairs. On the weeks that I do not have my daughter (I’m divorced and share custody), there are weeks where I do not leave my house or see another human for 3-4 days…So, no exercise involved. Zero explanation.

    I cannot tolerate anything remotely spicy anymore (and I’m a NOLA native). If I eat anything spicy, my face will turn bright red, and I will start sweating from my head so much I look like I just stepped out of the shower.

    Who knows…?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here