Joining a Gym Was The Best Thing I Could Have Done For Myself

With the turn of a new year, often new resolutions are made, generally centered around being a more disciplined person. Common ones are family-oriented, personal reading goals, financial goals, diet changes or fitness related. While I didn’t intend this to become a goal of mine, I became more disciplined in my fitness journey. I joined a gym around this time two years ago, as this happens to be the time I became a stay-at-home mom and it was honestly the best thing I could have done for myself.

Having worked my whole life so far, not earning an income myself was quite the adjustment. I couldn’t imagine finally spending money on myself to join a gym. But I found myself signing up for a gym membership at Club4Fitness two years ago to take advantage of the no signup fee costs. Truly, it’s one of the best things I’ve done for myself!

 

I browsed several gym options but a huge selling point at this particular gym was the included cost of childcare for 2 kids. Realistically, I had two toddlers in tow and I was not about to wake up extra early given the little sleep I got with my 4-month-old as is just to go workout. For the premium plus membership, which is just $35 a month, I could bring my two kids with me to go work out EVERYDAY for up to 2 hours a day!

Just over a dollar a day y’all and they watched my kids!

Let me add a disclaimer now though: Kid Care is open from 8 am-12 pm Monday-Sunday and 4 pm-8 pm Monday-Thursday.

The first time I dropped my kids off, and walked to the locker room, I felt so free. Having never paid for childcare before, it was so exhilarating. I marched myself over to the treadmills and watched my kids play through the glass doors. My then 2-year-old looked like she was having fun playing with the other kids and all the toys they had available. I saw they got a swing out to put my 4 months old in and he was perfectly content. Relieved that all was going well, I plugged my headphones into my phone and watched an episode of reality tv. Not believing my new reality and after a nice 30-minute walk, I decided to try out the hydro massage chair. For the entire 10-minute massage, I felt like I was pampering myself. Then I walked back and picked up my kids. My 2-year-old didn’t want to leave and begged me to stay. After promising her we would return tomorrow, she happily handed me the pictures she colored while I was gone. And the next day we were back.

I eventually became more adventurous and tried several of the group fitness classes. I had never lifted a barbell until I tried LesMills BodyPump and I was sore for days afterward. Yoga was relaxing, especially on the days after a big workout. And I even ventured to the 360 classes (working out in a smaller group setting led by a personal trainer). I was coached on how to hold proper posture with lifting and found out exactly how much I could lift in some of these classes.

I quickly found myself going every day of the week. Sometimes just for a 30-minute walk, and other times, I felt I maxed out my 2-hour limit between the workout, massage, and a shower. Honestly, I think I showered at the gym more than at my own house. Yes, it meant I had to bring my own towel, but it also meant I didn’t have to cut into my afternoon “me” time while the kids were napping to shower when Kid Care would happily watch them. Going to the gym became a way to reset for us all when we needed it.

After a few months, I was the strongest I had ever been. I could actually see muscle in my arms. I was in better shape after having 2 kids than I ever was before. I was proud of myself for my accomplishments. Having recently had a third child, I am eager to start going to the gym consistently again. I do pay an extra $15 a month to include my 3rd child in Kid Care, but joining Club4Fitness has been worth every penny.

Additional things we love about Club4Fitness:

  • themed holiday decor in KidCare
  • treasure chest days on Tuesday and Thursday
  • option of tanning beds
  • my children see me taking care of myself
Emily is a dual citizen, residing in Lafayette, Louisiana, yet a temporary visitor in her other residency of Germany. She is a wife of four years and full time working mother to two kids: a 2.5 year old girl (C) and 5 month old boy (H). Having graduated from LSU with her bachelors, she continued her education by getting her Masters in Business Administration from UL. Working in management in retail, her schedule frequently varies and consists of unusual hours, but she embraces that as extra time with her children. While off the clock, Emily pours herself a cup of decaf coffee, plays in a room filled with toddler toys, teaches her children German, and attempts to be a scrunchy Montessori inspired mama with goals of raising independent children.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here