Why We Became a Front Yard Family

Why We Became a Front Yard Family

When we were house searching 6 years ago, we did not yet have kids. But we considered a number of options, such as the number of bedrooms, school zones, and a nice backyard. We had visions of kids running through the sprinkler, playing soccer. I always knew I wanted to spend a lot of time outside with my kids and we currently participate in the 1,000 Hours Outside Challenge. I never once considered spending more time in the front yard playing than in the backyard. Why would I if I have a fully fenced-in backyard that I can let my kids run loose in?

So why the front yard?

It started with afternoon walks around the neighborhood after naptime in an effort to save my sanity. After several weeks, we started meeting some of the other kids around the neighborhood. Very quickly, my 4-year-old started asking to spend extra time outside after our walks in hopes of our friends joining us outside (ok, it’s probably more like acquaintances). This is the sole driving force behind spending time in the front yard that I didn’t ever consider. I am spending time in the front yard, despite the dangers of cars in the street with my three little kids, so my kids can be social.

Listen, I don’t deprive my kids of social situations. We very regularly attend library events, my 4-year-old goes to a Mother’s Day Out 3 days a week and they LOVE kid care at the gym. But they have so much fun visiting with these other kids. I am helping them foster potential friendships, enjoy time outside, and get all the energy out before bedtime. And thankfully, we live on a cul-de-sac so traffic is minimal.

Here are some of our favorite things to do in the front yard:

  • Magnatiles on the garage door
  • Lay on the outdoor blanket
  • Read
  • Play with dolls outside
  • Dig in the mulch – we do not have perfectly manicured flower beds
  • Scooter
  • Painting
  • Basically, any activity that can be done inside, but outside instead!
Emily Miller
Emily is a dual citizen, residing in Lafayette, Louisiana, yet a temporary visitor in her other residency of Germany. She is a wife of four years and full time working mother to two kids: a 2.5 year old girl (C) and 5 month old boy (H). Having graduated from LSU with her bachelors, she continued her education by getting her Masters in Business Administration from UL. Working in management in retail, her schedule frequently varies and consists of unusual hours, but she embraces that as extra time with her children. While off the clock, Emily pours herself a cup of decaf coffee, plays in a room filled with toddler toys, teaches her children German, and attempts to be a scrunchy Montessori inspired mama with goals of raising independent children.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here